Need help giving up smoking? Can you help others? This is where you can find help dealing with cravings, where you can discuss advance plans for dealing with difficult situations or general advice about staying smoke free.
#116 by Rosco
Tue May 13, 2014 11:32 pm
Hi all,

I really wanted to share my story so far as I think it may be very beneficial for others

I was an over a pack-a-day smoker for 15 years with no real intention of giving up, I just enjoyed the experience too much. With a coffee, after a meal, with a glass of red.. All very enjoyable times. I knew about the health and monetary benefits of quitting, but the more I saw quitting adverts and had friends and family pushing the idea of quitting it all just seemed to make me want to smoke more!

I also work in the hospitality industry, where smoking is rife and that 5 minute smoke break during a busy shift was one of the only things that made the job bearable.

So, as you can see, it wasn't really looking good for me. I was surrounded by smokers, enjoyed it and didn't care of the health/financial losses. Until I walked passed a Vaping shop and thought "if I can even cut my smoking in half, then it's worth a try".

I spent a fairly hefty outlay on a kit on e-cigs with juice, 2 batteries and a charger and I've been hooked since! I cut down to 10 cigs in the first day, 5 in the second, 4 in the third, 1 in the fourth and have now been smoke free for 6 days. When I "vape" I feel like I'm still smoking - I still get the same relaxing rush (could be mental), I enjoy the sampling of the endless flavours and am even getting hooked on Vaping as a hobby! If I get cravings (and in honesty rarely do), I cope by cleaning out my e-cig methodically, or I go shopping for new or exiting parts/juice!

My bank balance my not have improved since quitting, but I feel the health benefits are priceless and I'm sure many others would easily spend £££'s if they knew they would never smoke again.